Political News

Himachal Pradesh: Six rebel Congress MLAs join BJP

Shimla: Six Congress MLAs from Himachal Pradesh, who were disqualified and cross-voted in the Rajya Sabha polls, have formally joined the BJP.

The MLAs are Sudhir Sharma, Ravi Thakur, Rajendra Singh Rana, Chaitanya Sharma, Devender Bhutto and Inder Dutt Lakhanpal (all from Congress). Besides, three independent MLAs from Himachal Pradesh, Hosiyar Singh, KL Thakur and Ashish Sharma are also likely to formally join the BJP.

Six rebel Congress MLAs — Sudhir Sharma, Ravi Thakur, Rajendra Rana, Indra Dutt Lakhanpal, Chaitanya Sharma and Devender Kumar Bhutto — were disqualified on February 29 for disobeying a party whip to be present in the Himachal Pradesh Assembly and vote in favour of the state government during cut motions and budget.

The Election Commission has announced by-elections for their constituencies.