Political NewsPunjab

Jalandhar West By-Election: 23 Candidates File 35 Nominations

Nominations Can Be Withdrawn by June 26

Jalandhar: A total of 23 candidates have filed 35 nomination papers for Jalandhar West Assembly constituency by-elections. On the last day today, 14 candidates submitted their nomination papers to the Returning Officer, out of which 4 candidates filed papers as covering candidates. Until yesterday, 9 candidates had filed their nomination papers.

District Election Officer-cum-Deputy Commissioner Dr. Himanshu Aggarwal said that Aam Aadmi Party candidate Mahinderpal, Congress Party candidate Surinder Kaur, and Shiromani Akali Dal candidate Surjit Kaur have filed their nomination papers. He informed that in addition, Balwinder Kumar, Ajay, Varun Kaler, Amit Kumar, Aarti, Deepak Bhagat, and Mahinderpal have filed their nominations as independent candidates.

Furthermore, Atul Bhagat as a covering candidate for Aam Aadmi Party, Karan Suman as a covering candidate for Congress Party, Paramjit Mall as a covering candidate for Bahujan Samaj Party, and Anju Agarwal as a covering candidate for Bharatiya Janata Party have submitted their papers.

He stated that so far, 23 candidates have filed nomination papers for the Jalandhar West (SC) Assembly constituency by-election. He mentioned that the scrutiny of nomination papers will be done on June 24 and the nominations can be withdrawn by June 26. He also informed that voting for the Jalandhar West by-election will take place on July 10, and the counting of votes will be conducted on July 13.