Political NewsPunjab

Resignations of Punjab MLAs Angural and Chabbewal not yet accepted

Chandigarh: The resignations of Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) MLA Sheetal Angural from Jalandhar and Congress MLA from Chabbewal in Hoshiarpur, Rajkumar Chabbewal, are yet to be accepted.

Angural left AAP and joined BJP, while Dr. Raj Kumar left Congress and joined AAP. At the same time, the Center has also provided security to Jalandhar MLA Sushil Angural and former MP Sushil Kumar Rinku. Angural and Dr. Raj Kumar had sent their resignations to Punjab Assembly Speaker Kultar Singh Sandhwan before switching parties.

According to the rules, the resignation given by each MLA in such circumstances is examined regularly. The Punjab Assembly Speaker’s view will also be considered before the resignation is accepted. It remains to be seen whether both have resigned due to fear or pressure from the party.