Political NewsPunjab

Four MLAs have to resign before June 20 in Punjab

Chandigarh: Four MLAs from Punjab who won the Lok Sabha elections, and one from neighboring Haryana, will have to resign before June 20, as it is legally required.

The notification related to the election of all Lok Sabha MPs was published in the Gazette of India on June 6, 2024. After their resignations, the Election Commission will initiate further action for the by-elections.

According to the information, two Congress MLAs, Sukhjinder Singh Randhawa from Gurdaspur and Congress state president Amarinder Singh Raja Warring from Ludhiana, won in the Lok Sabha elections this time. They are currently MLAs from Dera Baba Nanak and Gidderbaha, respectively.

Similarly, AAP minister Gurmeet Singh Meet, who won from Sangrur, is an MLA from Barnala. Raj Kumar Chabbewal, who quit the Congress and contested the Hoshiarpur Lok Sabha seat on an AAP ticket, is an MLA from the constituency. They will also have to resign from his post. Likewise, Varun Chaudhary of the Congress party, the MLA from Mullana assembly constituency in Ambala district, Haryana, has now been elected to the Lok Sabha. He will also have to resign from his post.